Got more than needed votes to win RS seat: Congress


Senior Congress leader Patel, the political secretary to Congress president Sonia Gandhi, is one of the contestants in the Rajya Sabha polls.

Mr Gehlot made the statement after voting by all the Congress, NCP and JDU MLA got over.

State BJP president Jitubhai Vaghani, party's state in-charge Bhupendra Yadav and Minister of State for Home Pradeepsinh Jadeja and other leaders met Shah in the morning for the Rajya Sabha elections of August 8, party sources said.

Rajput till recently was Congress' chief whip in the House.

Meanwhile Patel expressed confidence and said, "I am confident, party is confident we are going to win".

Earlier, when the 44 MLAs alighted from a bus that brought them to Swarnim Sankul Complex in Gandhinagar, Gujarat BJP President Jitubhai Vaghani and other leaders welcomed them.

Party leader R.P.N. Singh, who was also part of the Congress delegation, said the Election Commission had told them that they will seek a report from the returning officer.

As Gujarat goes into elections by the end of this year, Sonia and Rahul Gandhi will both be counting on Patel to play a pivotal role in guiding the Congress to - if not victory - then a face-saving performance.

Subsequently, the rattled Congress tucked away 44 of its MLAs to a Bengaluru resort to insulate them from alleged "poaching" attempts by the BJP. However, six Congress MLAs have resigned from the party by now and the principal opposition party is left with only 51 MLAs in the state Assembly. There are only two parties in Gujarat - Congress and BJP.

The BJP has nominated Shah and Irani for two Rajya Sabha seats from the state and they would sail through. "His victory is certain", says Shailesh Parmar. One BJP rebel was also expected to vote for Patel.

Patel has been banking upon the "unflinching support" of the 44 MLAs, two from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and one of Janata Dal-United.

"Had cleared things yesterday itself".

In the interim, two Congress MLA Dharmendra Jadeja and Raghavji Patel have voted in favor of the BJP. However, Singh's Twitter message has fallen on deaf ears as his former colleague Shankersinh Vaghela has voted for the BJP.

Ahmed Patel: "Numbers are in our favour; result should be good".

"When I am confident, party is confident we are going to win". Gujarat Chief Minister has also reached to cast his vote. From last two decades contest does not take place in Rajya Sabha election in Gujarat. That is the reason there is zero chance of the Congress Party winning this seat.