Kovind enters Rashtrapati Bhavan with big win


However, Meira Kumar got only 26 votes.

Kovind clinched the votes of 11 MLAs in the state, five more than NDA's tally of six.

And thirdly, every Congress leader, including Meira Kumar herself, talked extensively of this election being a clash of two contrasting ideologies and values. In Uttar Pradesh, Kumar got just 65 votes, though the combined strength of the Opposition stands at 73.

"Presidential election is about voting from the heart". Mr. Kovind got the highest number of votes - 335 - from U.P. and the lowest - just 1 - from Kerala.

Secondly, Sonia Gandhi and Meira Kumar's appeal to MPs and MLAs to vote as per their inner conscience proved to be counter-productive. In Goa, three of its MLAs cross-voted going in favour of Kovind.

State Department spokesperson Heather Nauert told reporters on Thursday, "We want to congratulate the President-elect Ram Nath Kovind on his victory". Kovind's win is considered significant because he is only the second President to hail from a Scheduled Caste, after the tenth President of India, K R Narayanan (1997-2002). However, Kalam had no association with the BJP. Kovind also thanked his rival and former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, and wished well for her future. "This is also a message to those who earn their livelihood with hard work and honesty", he said.

Hundreds of party activists burst fire-crackers, danced and played drums, distributed candies and hugged each other cheering Kovind's victory.

"I'd like to congratulate and convey the best wishes of the people of AFG to Hon". "Gladdened by the extensive support for Kovind Ji among MPs and across various States".

The Electoral College comprises of Members of Parliament and members of legislative assemblies of all states.

"His victory is truly historic", Shah said.

Kumar also congratulated Kovind.

Being at the forefront of the project of expanding the party's footprints across the nation, Amit Shah along with Narendra Modi solidified their voter base by Kovind's nomination, which was a clear symbol of their vision for 2019 elections. He presented Kovind a stole and a flower and offered him candies.

The Maharashtra Legislature comprised of a total of 288 votes, out of which the BJP holds 122 votes, while Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena has 62.

However, the only losing candidate to have come closest to Kumar's record was former Chief Justice of India Koka Subba Rao, who contested the 1967 election as a candidate of united opposition parties, like Kumar.